The New Music Hour!

With Luke Deane and Josh Herring

 New and bizzare music coming to you now on Scratch Radio – Sundays 5PM till 6PM. Tune in and “free your mind”

Listen Live

 Friday March 2nd 2012 – 20:00 – 21:00PM

Heiner Goebbels Feature on SouthBank Arts Radio


Listen Now to the Show

(Excerpts from “The Man In The Elevator” are removed for copyright reasons) – In Three Parts

Tune in for Birmingham Conservatoire’s feature on critically acclaimed composer Heiner Goebbels, who will visit Birmingham and the Conservatoire in March and June for performances of his work as part of the 2012 Cultural Olympiad. Birmingham’s ‘Mutiny Radio Ensemble’ directed by Luke Deane will perform new contemporary live works for radio written in response to Heiner’s work. Including new works by Howard Skempton and Michael Wolters as well as new work from student composers: Rene Mogensen, Rosie Clements, Luke Deane, Ryan Probert and Lindsay Wright.

The show features interviews with Heiner Goebbels himself about the upcoming performance of his piece Walden, as well as interviews with RadioART lecturer Kersten Glandien on her upcoming showcase of Goebbels’ radio work, Singer Elaine Mitchener who will be performing his ‘Three Horatian Songs’ (from Surrogate Cities) and Director of the Decibel Ensemble Ed Bennett as part of Frontiers Plus Contemporary Music Festival 2012.


Episode 11

Happy Birthday


Happy Birthday – Delia Derbyshire
mnd-sng02 – Aoki Takamasa
Ziwzih Ziwzih 00-00-00 – Delia Derbyshire
Mattachin – Delia Derbyshire
Towards Tomorrow – Delia Derbyshire
Eight Sum – Amon Tobin
Foley Versions (Kronos Quartet Interpretation) – Amon Tobin
Orekatzeko – Mudslinger
Carbon Prevails – Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross
Fuck you Oshallet – USK
uni c – alva noto


Walsall Art Gallery – “There is another place” – Saturday March 17th [FREE ALL DAY]:

Philip Glass and the Kronos Quartet @ Symphony Hall, Birmingham 29th May 8pm [£9.50-£35]:

Mudslinger [OstrichBOX artist]

Supersonic Festival:

Episode 10



Observations – David Lang
Etched Headplate – Burial
Industry – Bang On A Can
Natural Anthem – The Postal Service
My Second Favourite Song in the World – Lullatone
Ice Cream – Battles
Live Cassettes – Luke Deane

BEST OF Episode

What a silly idea, all of the tracks are great…


5050 – Drumeyes
A Snowflake – Peter Broderick
Boi Lilikoi – Jonsi
Brothersport – Animal Collective
Do Not As I Do – Hannah Hukkleburg
Elk Cloner – Sculpture
First Flight – Mark Isham
Hannahs Theme Vocal Version – Chemical Brothers
Hornets Nest – Jonti
Husks and Shells – Volcano Choir
In Tandem – Howard Skempton
American Rounds I – Martin Butler
Mothertounge Pt.1: Archive – Nico Muhly

Episode 6

Network Music Festival Special

@ The Edge, Ort Cafe, P.S.T, Digbeth, Birmingham 27th – 29th January 2012


Henry Vega and Anat Spiegel – Sermon on files and vile springs – Based on a text by Georg Hobmeier
Interview with Alberto De Campo
Foret Noire – Mustek
Neuromedusae II – Glitch Litch
Netzwerkkonzert – Republic111
Formreform – Konstantinos Vasilakos
Interview with Annie Go from Republic 111
XYZ – Shelly Knotts

Episode 4

Pigs…in There?


Invocation – Bobby Mcferrin
Lewis Takes Off His Shirt – Owen Pallette
My Machines – Battles
Pigs – Robert Wyatt
Movements of a Visionary – Tangerine Dream
Atoms For Peace – Thom Yorke
Polygene – Efterklang
Baby – Bobby Mcferrin

Episode 3

Temecular Sunrise

Playlist: Playlist will be added soon

Episode 2

Jonsi or Jonti?


American Rounds: I – Martin Butler
Husks and Shells – Volcano Choir
Mothertounge Pt. 1: Archive – Nico Muhly
Das Unenthillte: I. Duo Sunt – Per Norgard / Rolf Hind
Dirty Electronics / Geist FND Remix – Tansy Davies
Hannas Theme Vocal Version – The Chemical Brothers
Twice – Little Dragon
Boy Lilikoi – Jonsi
All Is Love – Karen O And The Kids
Do Not As I Do – Hannah Hukkelburg
Hornets Nest – Jonti
Brothersport – Animal Collective

Episode 1

Cowbells to Zoeotropes


Title Music – From the Darjeeling Limited
Lindberg Palace Suite – Mark Mothersbaugh
First Flight – Mark Isham
Lullaby – Grizzly Bear
Twice – Little Dragon
Elk Cloner – Sculpture
Snow Clamp – Graham Fitkin
50-50 – Drum-eyes
Under The Umbrella – Jo Kondo
In Tandem – Howard Skempton
Us Against Whateverever – Ghostpoet